The Cocker Spaniel Club of Queensland came to life in 1944 when shows as we know them today were far beyond the imagination of the exhibitors of 50 years ago.
Sitting outside the Eagers Show room at the Exhibition Ground one day after the Cocker Spaniel judging, a group of dedicated Cocker exhibitors discussed the possibility of forming a Cocker Spaniel Club. Taking part in this discussion were Captain and Mrs Stuart (Melrose), Mr and Mrs Flynn (Kentucky), Mr and Mrs McGregor (Carinya), Mr and Mrs McClean (Eccleston) and Mrs N Miller (Shirling)...... these breeders formed the steering committee and a meeting of Cocker breeders and exhibitors was called. Mr Eddington (Beldon) was elected the first President and Mrs Marsden (Morninglea) the first Secretary.
The Club became affiliated to the Kennel Association of Queensland for this was in the days before the Canine Control Council, and there was more than one control.
The Club's first show was held in the Exhibition Grounds, O'Connell Terrace on Saturday 28 October 1944. A two point Championship Show with an entry of 32 (12 dogs and 20 bitches); 4 brace; 1 team and 1 litter. Presentation of trophies took place two week later at a monster social and dance held in St Lukes Hall, Charlotte Street with admission by a silver coin! The Club's second show was held in September 1945, with an increase in entries to 45 (20 dogs and 25 bitches).
In 1948 the Club became affiliated with the Canine Control Council and held the first Parade under this affiliation in May 1948, again with an increase in entries to 45 (20 dogs and 25 bitches).
Over the years from this small beginning the Club has successfully progressed on to the present day and from an entry of 32 in 1944 we are now looking forward to hosting our third National Specialty Show in a few years time.
In 1996 we held our Inaugural Cocker of the Year and Puppy of the Year Contest, which has gone on to be a yearly end of year members compeition.
In 2002 the Cocker Spaniel Club became live on the internet, with a website designed and content written by club member, Terri Davies. The site went live 14 September 2002 and in the first 12 months we had over 15000 unique visitors to our site.
In 2003 saw the Club become incorporated, and the Club was able to now look to the future with more assurity, and continue to promote our lovely breed.
2004 saw us add a second Championship Show to be held yearly in December. The judge for our Inaugural December Show was our Patron, Mr Noel Boddy (Arrunga Kennels).
We again see more changes in 2007, with another Championship show added to our yearly activities. The Inaugural May Championship Show was judged by Mrs Julie Gotch (Clarevale Kennels). We now have 3 Championship Shows each year - May, July and December. Queensland is now at the forefront of specialty shows, with our Club holding three shows each year.
In 2008, our annual February Open Show moved to May and was combined with our Championship Show. This change is allowing our breed to showcase a greater number of exhibits to aspiring judges.